Login NowClose 
Sign In to h-ponline.com           
Forgot Password
or if you have not registered since 8/22/18
Click Here to Create an Account

No Dem Party primary

by Andrew Maciejewski - amaciejewski@h-ponline.com

Citizens of Andrews and the city of Huntington will be the only voters allowed to participate on Primary Election Day, May 7, due to a lack of contested races. 

The primary election will only have a Republican Party ballot, since Indiana Code controls unnecessary balloting for a completely unopposed field. Huntington County voter registration and election deputy Pam Fowler said the law was created to save counties money so that their office is not paying for unnecessary programming, printing and postage. 

In Huntington, the Primary Election will decide the Republican candidate for the title of mayor, with County Commissioner Larry Buzzard challenging Mayor Brooks Fetters. It will also decide open seats for the Common Council: Paul Scalf is challenging incumbent Paul Pike for the District 2 seat; Rabih Ayoub is challenging David Funk for the District 4 seat; Patrick Felton and Brandon Whitesell are challenging incumbents Seth Marshall and Jack Slusser for two open at large seats. 

In Andrews, Laura Dillon, Van Juillerat and Roger Newsome Jr. are challenging incumbent John Harshbarger for three open seats on the Andrews Town Council. 

The deadline to register to vote is Monday, April 8. 

Early voting at the courthouse begins April 22, and will run through May 3. Hours for voting are from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

There will also be early voting at the courthouse on two Saturdays, April 27 and May 4, from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Additional early voting at satellites will be available April 30 and May 1 at the American Legion, 1410 S Jefferson St., from 11 a.m. to 7 p.m. and also on May 2 and May 3 at the YMCA from 7 a.m. to 3 p.m.

The last opportunity for Early Voting will be at the Courthouse on May 6 from 9 a.m. to noon.

Voters may also vote early using absentee by mail. A voter must request an absentee ballot application from the voter registration office, complete it and return it by mail, email or fax. The application will be processed and a ballot will be sent by mail.

The deadline to call the Voter Registration office to request an application is April 17, and the completed application must be received by that office no later than April 29.

There will be four vote centers open on Election Day, May 7th, from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. These location are at the courthouse, 201 N. Jefferson St.; YMCA, 1160 W. 500 N.; Nazarene Church, 1555 Flaxmill Rd., and Heritage Hall, 631 E Taylor St.

The American Legion on S. Jefferson Street is being replaced as a vote center location by Heritage Hall this year.