When former Vice President Joe Biden slammed his gavel repeatedly following the 2016 general election and proclaimed, “It is over,” Republicans lawmakers erupted with applause.

Despite numerous interruptions and the objections by nearly a dozen Democratic House members, Biden declared Donald Trump president of the United States on Friday, Jan. 6, 2017.